Submitting a Nomination

The George Polk awards are conferred annually to honor special achievement in journalism. Winners are chosen from newspapers, magazines, television, radio, and online news organizations. Nominees may come from any quarter including a panel of 39 advisers. Judges are Long Island University faculty and alumni as well as outside journalists. The awards are presented each spring at a luncheon in Manhattan and are preceded the night before by a seminar featuring a panel of winners.

All submissions must be made electronically.

If you experience any technical difficulties using the online nomination form, please send an email to

For all other non-technical questions or to request more information, please contact


Entries are for work published or presented during the previous calendar year. The deadline for submission is January 5. There is a fee of $50 per entry, payable by credit card only. Entries will not be acknowledged.


Judges place a premium on investigative and enterprise work that is original, significant, brings results and requires resourcefulness or courage.


Entries should be submitted by category – foreign, national, etc. – but these categories are by no means binding. Judges may drop or add categories at their discretion. Selection of a category will not impact an entry's chances of winning.

Cover Letter

Submission will include a cover letter stating why the entry is prize-worthy. If the article or coverage has been challenged on significant grounds, this should be stated and addressed. If another publication partnered in the project, this should be noted.

Pay Wall

If the article/video is behind a pay wall, remember to provide a password, etc., for access in the cover letter.

Team Projects

We award up to three named individual reporters or producers; if there are more than three, the entry is for “staff”. We urge you to deal with the question of reportorial responsibility in the cover letter. If the work was genuinely a team project – that is, if more than three members of a group made essential contributions – please say so. Bear in mind we prefer whenever possible to honor individual journalists, especially those displaying courage and outstanding enterprise.


Journalists do not have to be U.S. citizens and the media outlet does not have to be American, but all entries must be in English and have appeared in the U.S.


In recent years, each winner has been awarded a cash bonus, made possible by the Nicholas B. Ottaway Foundation. Judges often confer a career award for a body of work.

© 2022 Long Island University all rights reserved